Upcoming Conferences:

2017: November 9-12 , Memphis, TN (Acting Local Chair: Jennifer Wagner-Lawlor; Program Co-Chairs: Andrew Byers and Elizabeth Schreiber-Byers) #SUS2017

*CFP EXTENDED Deadline: August 15, 2017

Nicole LaRose Travel Grant

The Nicole LaRose Travel Grant provides funding to offset travel costs for graduate students presenting their work at the Society for Utopian Studies annual meeting.  To be considered for this grant, please send your presentation proposal for the 2017 meeting, budget proposal, and a recent c.v. to Mark Tabone, Awards chair:

On the budget proposal, please list other resources you have available from your home institution, research grants, or other sources. Selection criteria include:

1) The quality of the paper proposal/abstract, with attention to its contribution to utopian studies
2) The soundness of the proposed budget
3) A demonstrated commitment to the society, as evidenced by repeat attendance and participation in the life of the society.

Grant winners will be notified by the end of August, when conference acceptances go out.


Past Meetings, Programs, & Minutes

2016: October 26-30, St. Petersburg, FL (Conference Chair: John Barberet; Program Chair: Justin Nordstrom) #SUS2016 #More500

2015: November 5-8, Pittsburgh,PA (Conference Chair: Cliff Manlove; Program Chair: Clint Jones), #SUS2015, 2015 Program and 2015 Minutes

2014: Montréal, Québec (Conference Chair: Brian Greenspan; Program Chair: Pete Sands), 2014 Program and 2014 Minutes

2013: Charleston, South Carolina (Conference Chair: Claire Curtis; Program Chair: Dina Smith), 2013 Program and 2013 Minutes

2012: Toronto, Ontario: 4-7 October (Conference Chair: Peter Fitting; Program Chair: Lyman Tower Sargent), 2012 Program and 2012 Minutes

2011: Stage College, PA; October 20-23 (Conference Chair: Jennifer Wagner-Lawlor; Program Chair: Sonja Fritzsche): #SUS11, 2011 Program and 2011 Minutes

2010: 35th Annual Meeting in Milwaukee, Wisconsin (Peter Sands; Brian Greenspan), 2010 Program and 2010 Minutes

2009: 34th Annual Meeting in Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina (Peter Stillman; Claire Curtis), 2009 Program

2008: 33rd Annual Meeting in Portland, Maine (Naomi Jacobs; Shelton Waldrep), 2008 Program

2007: 32nd Annual Meeting in Toronto, Ontario (Peter Fitting; Phillip Wegner), 2007 Program

2006: 31th Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs, Colorado (Brenda Tooley; Carrie Hintz), 2006 Program

2005: 30th Annual Meeting in Memphis, Tennessee (Jennifer Wagner-Lawlor; Doretta Cornell), 2005 Program

2004: 29th Annual Meeting in Toronto, Ontario (Peter Fitting; Alex MacDonald), 2004 Program

2003: 28th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California (Paul Majkut; Naomi Jacobs), 2003

2002: 27th annual meeting in Orlando, Florida (John Barberet; Peter Sands), 2002 Program and 2002 Minutes

2001: 26th Annual Meeting in Buffalo, NY (Lynda Schneekloth; Phillip Wegner), 2001 Program and  2001 Minutes

2000: 25th Annual Meeting in Vancouver, B.C. (Nancy Sloan Goldberg; Andrea Anderson), 2000 Program and  2000 Minutes

1999: 24th Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX (Alex MacDonald; Peter Fitting), 1999 Minutes


1997 Memphis: Jennifer Wagner; Peter Fitting

1996 Nashville: Nancy Sloan Goldberg

1995 Toronto: June Deery; Mickey Abrash; Peter Fitting

1994 Toronto: Kenneth Roemer; Peter Fitting

1993 St. Louis: Lyman Tower Sargent; Naomi Jacobs

1992 Baltimore: Carol Kolmerten

1991 Las Vegas: Felicia F. Campbell

1990 Lexington, KY: Susan Matarese

1989 Asilomar Conference Ctr.: Samson Knoll

1988 Emerson College: Lynn Williams

1987 Penn State Delaware County: Carol Farley Kessler

Pacific Grove, CA: Dennis Rohatyn

1986 Asilomar Conference Ctr.: Samson Knoll; Michael Orth

1985 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: Mickey Abrash

1984 University of Missouri-St Louis: Lyman Tower Sargent

1983 Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Edward D. Wilson

1982 University of New Brunswick: William Prouty

1981 Virginia Polytechnic Institute: Nicholas Smith

1980 Pennsylvania State University: Arthur O. Lewis

1979 University of Colorado-Denver: Michael Cummings

1978 Pennsylvania State University: Arthur O. Lewis

1977 University of Michigan: Gorman Beauchamp; Alexandra Aldridge

1976 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: Mickey Abrash

3 Responses

  1. Reena’s Utopia Sites | Lenore Malen Blog
    Reena’s Utopia Sites | Lenore Malen Blog / 4-24-2012 / ·
  2. SUS 2015 CFP | Utopus Discovered
    SUS 2015 CFP | Utopus Discovered / 2-10-2015 / ·

    […] use our online forms for submissions by clicking “Submit a Proposal” on our conference website […]

  3. 500 años de utopías: XVII Congreso de la Utopian Studies Society Europe |
    500 años de utopías: XVII Congreso de la Utopian Studies Society Europe | / 12-23-2015 / ·

    […] profundizar en el estudio de esta temática. Entre sus acciones destacan la organización de una conferencia internacional anual así como la edición de su propia revista que cuenta con dos volúmenes […]

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

Skip to toolbar